Lewin on Trusts (19th Edition) published by Sweet & Maxwell

1st January 2015

New Square Chambers are pleased to inform you that the new edition of Lewin on Trusts has been published this month. The editorial team is made up solely of members of New Square Chambers, with Lynton Tucker, Nicholas Le Poidevin, Q.C. and James Brightwell as authors, assisted by Thomas Fletcher and Christopher Lloyd.

Now in its 19th Edition, Lewin on Trusts covers all aspects of trust law, providing in-depth analysis of both the general principles and current practice.

Highlights of this new edition include:

A fully updated treatment of shams and, following Pitt v Holt, mistake and the re-stated principle in Re Hastings-Bass

  • An exposition of all recent statutes affecting trusts, including the Perpetuities and Accumulations Act 2009, the Trusts (Capital and Income) Act 2013, the Presumption of Death Act 2013 and the Inheritance and Trustees’ Powers Act 2014
  • A modern text on bribes and other unauthorised profits, after FHR European Ventures LLP and the Bribery Act 2010
  • A consideration of the vexed topic of limitation of trust claims in the light ofWilliams v Central Bank of Nigeria
  • A comprehensive account of the rules governing jurisdiction and choice of law in trust disputes, including disputes arising out of constructive trusts
  • A detailed statement of the law of co-ownership by cohabitants, as found inJones v Kernott and later decisions
  • The fullest treatment of trusts arising under mutual wills and the Married Women’s Property Act
  • A discussion of confiscation and the civil recovery of the proceeds of crime as they impinge on trustees
  • New material on knowing receipt by a company and on the attribution of knowledge to a company in cases of fraud
  • An extensively revised account of the court’s powers in trust cases and the relevant procedural rules, including the incidence of costs and the new powers of costs management and costs capping


To order a copy of Lewin on Trusts, please click here

Associated Members

Lynton Tucker

Nicholas Le Poidevin QC

© New Square Chambers Ltd